Monday, November 7, 2011

38th Indian Women's National Chess Championship

From The Times of London:

Mary Ann takes lead in national chess

CHENNAI: WGM Mary Ann Gomes of Airports Authority of India defeated International Master Nisha Mohota of PSPB to move into sole lead after the ninth round of the Velammal 38th women's National Premier chess championship on Monday.

Mary Ann leads the table with 7.0 points followed by WGMs Padmini Rout (Orissa) and Eesha Karavade (Maharashtra) at 6.5 points each. Top seed Tania Sachdeva's defeat in the top board pushed her to the fourth spot with 6.0 points.

Eesha is coming back to form as she recorded her fourth win in succession. Facing Tania in the top board with black pieces, Eesha's bold tactics paid quick dividend.

The Nimzo Indian game saw Eesha achieving equality, and surprise Tania with an early pawn sacrifice. Picking up the extra pawn didn't help Tania as she found herself in further middle game complication.

With just under seven minutes to complete her last twenty moves, Tania erred, helping Eesha gain advantage and the game in 26 moves.

Tania's defeat, along with Mary's win, propelled the Calcutta girl into sole lead. Consistency is Mary's middle name as she put behind her lone loss to Tania. The queen-pawn game saw Mary keep Nisha guessing, throwing her out of theory early in the game.

Nisha missed a critical pin in the centre that saw her going a piece down. Resistance ebbed down with less material on hand to defend and Nisha gave up on the 37th turn.

Talented Andhra girl Pratyusha Bodda drew a hard fought exchange down game against veteran Sai Meera of Indian Bank. In the process, Pratyusha completed her second Woman International Master Norm. Her first WIM Norm also came in the National Women Premier, at Orissa last year.

Results (Round 9):

Tania Sachdev (AI) 6 lost to Eesha Karavade (Mah) 6.5,
Mary Ann Gomes (AAI) 7 bt Nisha Mohota (PSPB) 5.5,
Chandika Divyasree (AP) 5.5 lost to Padmini Rout (Ori) 6.5,
P Michelle Catherina (TN) 5 drew Kiran Manisha Mohanty (Ori) 5.5,
Pratyusha Bodda (AP) 5 drew Sai Meera (IB) 5.5,
Swathi Ghate (LIC) 4.5 drew Meenakshi Subbaraman (AI) 5,
M Mahalakshmi (TN) 4 lost to Sowmya Swaminathan (PSPB) 5 ,
S Harini (TN) 4 lost to Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) 5,
J Saranya (TN) 4 lost to R Bharathi (TN) 5,
P Bala Kannamma (TN) 4 drew A G Nimmy (Ker) 4.5,
Swati Mohota (WB) 3.5 lost to Aarthie Ramaswamy (AI) 4.5,
Madhurima Shekhar (Del) 2 lost to Pon N Krithika (TN) 4.5,
A Akshaya (TN) 4 bt P V Nandhidhaa (TN) 3,
Cholleti Sahajasri (AP) 4 bt Supriya Joshi (Mah) 2,
Shweta Gole (Mah) 2.5 - Bye.

Rank after Round 9

Rk.NameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1 TB2 TB3
1WGMGomes Mary AnnIND2325WB7.0225522682298
2WGMPadmini RoutIND2356ORI6.5219321932179
3IMKaravade EeshaIND2348MAH6.5216621582144
4IMTania SachdevIND2419Air Ind6.0227422932296
5IMMohota NishaIND2320PSPB5.5226722882301
6Chandika DivyasreeIND2129AP5.5216421692158
7WIMMeera SaiIND2117IB5.5215521582149
8WGMKiran Manisha MohantyIND2213ORI5.5206620712072
9Pratyusha BoddaIND2062AP5.0230523062309
10WGMMeenakshi SubbaramanIND2297Air Ind5.0224922582283
11WGMSoumya SwaminathanIND2318PSPB5.0212221072088
12WFMBharathi RIND2112TN5.0210621002075
13WIMKulkarni BhaktiIND2289GOA5.0210020762074
14Michelle Catherina PIND2088TN5.0203320232017
15WGMSwathi GhateIND2278LIC4.5215321392112
16Nimmy A GIND2252KER4.5213621212088
17WFMPon NkrithikaIND2044AICF4.5211921282136
18WGMRamaswamy AarthieIND2209Air Ind4.5206220272024
19WFMSaranya JIND2106TN4.0223622392260
20Harini SIND2055TN4.0223322412260
21Cholleti SahajasriIND2074AP4.0220022212225
22WFMMahalakshmi MIND1954TN4.0216421542150
23Bala Kannamma PIND1978TN4.0207920892090
24A AkshayaIND1990TN4.0204420392045
25Shweta GoleIND1999MAH3.5215321592146
26WFMSwati MohotaIND2030WB3.5208821002100
27Nandhidhaa PvIND2105TN3.0200920062006
28Madhurima ShekharIND1906DEL2.0203120412043
29Supriya JoshiIND1904MAH2.0202620352036
30WIMThipsay Bagyashree SatheIND2108AICF1.0205900
Tie Break1: rating average of the opponents (variabel with parameters)
Tie Break2: rating average of the opponents (variabel with parameters)
Tie Break3: rating average of the opponents (variabel with parameters)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...