Thursday, March 3, 2011

The 6th Annual All Girls Chess Tournament

A report from the Wisconsin Scholastic Chess Federation's March, 2011 newsletter:

154 young lady chess players from Waukesha, Muskego, Beaver Dam to Green Bay and places in between gathered at Acuity Insurance corporate headquarters in Sheboygan for the 6th annual Wisconsin State All Girls Championships.  Every player received a pink t-shirt that complimented the grey and silver trophies.  A total of $1000 in scholarships were given to  six players in three divisons.  In the K12 division winners were Alena Huang, Sabrina Huang, and Naisha Bepar.  In the K5 division and K3 Divisions the scholarship winners were Mallory Veeser,  Anna Brink and Delia Alexander.  You can see the results table here  A special thanks to Acuity Insurance for sponsoring this event. 

Alena Huang and Sabrina Huang play at my adopted chess club, Southwest Chess Club, and have won Goddesschess sponsored prizes playing in some of the Hales Corners Chess Challenges. Isabella Ilchenko (12th place) has also played in many of the Challenges.  In fact, Challenge XIII (the number of the Goddess) is coming up on April 16, 2011! 

Here are the top K12 finishers:

Congratulations to all of the winners and scholarship recipients! 

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...